I remember when I heard on V103 that Marc was missing and I couldn’t believe it. I had to ask people in my family was it true, and sure enough it was. I refused to believe someone I’ve known as a child, who use to get me in parties, eat at my house during family gatherings was missing much less dead.

I turned on the TV and saw this on Feb 13, 2009:

The DeKalb County Police Department has posted a mission person alert for a man missing since Wednesday.

Police say 38-year-old Marc Stewart of Stone Mountain was last heard from by a family member on Wednesday night.

Stewart is described as a black male, 5’9″, 180 pounds with black hair and brown eyes.

Stewart was last seen wearing a black turtleneck, blue jeans and black shoes. At the time of his disappearance, Stewart was driving silver 2005 Ford Explorer with Georgia license tat BDY6016

On Feb 16, 2009 it was also reported:

He was heading home to Stone Mountain and called his wife to find out what she wanted for dinner. That was the last time anyone heard from Marc Stewart.

The body of the DeKalb businessman was found, in his SUV, in the parking lot of a Bahama Breeze restaurant in Duluth. He had been shot to death.

“We really don’t have any viable suspect information,” Gwinnett Police Corporal Illana Spellman tells WSB. She says someone spotted the body in the vehicle and called police.

Stewart, who had a daughter, was known in the area as a promoter of Caribbean music and films. There had been a preview of one of his movies scheduled for Sunday night. That, instead, turned into a memorial service for Stewart.

“Oh God. Marc is the sweetest person you would ever want to know,” says Joan Savoury, a family friend.

“I’m heartbroken,” says Wesley Graham, another friend. “All I can say is condolences to his family and I hope his soul rests in peace.”

Police are asking anyone with information on the killing to contact them. Another family friend, Tamayra Ginyard, is looking for justice and hopes the police can track down those responsible for the killing.

“It’s a senseless crime and we want whoever killed him to be caught,” she says, “and to be prosecuted to the fullest extent. Because they’ve taken someone from us that we can’t replace.”

Then days later after the 13 of Feb, they officially report that he was found dead in that same vehicle with different stories of what was on his body, how it was cut, shot, stabbed, etc. I couldn’t believe it! I was sick. Literally. I couldn’t function. I was very sad to know that this really happened to a person who would NEVER hurt anybody. He had a little girl. He had a family. He had a woman who loved him dearly. His casket was covered with mesh even though some say he should not have an open casket period, but it was to show the people that they couldn’t break what people believe in and that was love.

I wrote a post about it when it happened in case you missed it: RIP Marc Stewart

Now, every year there are many parties that are held to relive his life, moments shared and how he will never be forgotten.

He was well known in the community and that meant something.

Marc Stewart was found dead on Feb 15 but it wasn’t officially reported till this day Feb. 17, 2009, and I wanted to make it known that I have not forgotten about him. It don’t matter when it was reported, how he died, the matter is that he DIDN’T deserve to die. Even when others have drifted I still reminisce about you Marc.

So yeah..

Wow, It’s 3 years today and in 2012…

We STILL miss You!

 

:Leave your memories in the comment box!:

Leave a Reply

